HOW TO PULL INTO A BARREL

The waves were pumping yesterday and I finally got to surf on my forehand (I`m forever surfing righthanders over here in the Maldives). There were so many barreling waves coming through unridden it was ridiculous. Luckily, the Boyf was on hand to capture my best wave so I thought I`d share with you my attempt at getting barrelled.

 

TIPS ON GETTING TUBULAR

Different barrels can require different entry techniques.

The one above, for example, was barrelling really fast behind me so I had to try hard to slow down by stalling my board.

Two ways to stall your board: put your arm in the wall of the wave // step back and/or shift your weight towards the back of your board

Performing the above techniques allows yourself to get caught in the barrel.

Crouch down – keep your knees bent and relaxed (as much as you can in an unnatural situation like this!)

Always look forward – don`t close your eyes. Looking out through the window of the barrel and down the line of the wave, keeps your board pointed in the right direction and helps with getting out of the barrel. Hmmm, not sure what happened to me above!

Smile – it`s fun. Even when you wipeout…

Check out our friends, Kelly Clarkson (NZ), Amy Kotch (USA), Simone Zea (Venezuela), Holly Beck (USA) and their tube time.

This session I was wearing a Volt Surfwear bikini. Hidden ties in the bottoms mean`t they stayed on and not once pulled down. And I sure put them through the paces in this surf!

For more of our shots from yesterday, check out Liquid Destination`s blog.

And thankyou Boyfriend for taking photos of me!

One comment

  1. Pingback: WE DIDN’T GO SNORKELLING IN THE MALDIVES. | Salt Gypsy

Leave a Reply

