OLA PARA SIEMPRE

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With the DIY and craft movements in full swing globally over the last few years it is no surprise that crafty fingers have alighted themselves on the surf scene. Afterall, we are a creative and rebellious subculture are we not? Last summer, while a broken foot kept me somewhat land-locked for a time, I occupied myself by whipping up some board socks for travels the Boyf and I would be undertaking this year. Turns out, I wasn`t alone and this being the internet age, it wasn`t long before I came across the same-same-but-different awesomeness of Ola Para Siempre. Meet Sina: inspired proprietress of bespoke surfboard covers and other crafty things (like these rad feather crowns)….

How did a lovely latin lady like yourself end up on the Gold Coast?? Just one word: love. I’ve been with Ruben since I was 21. We met back home and 2 years after being together he decided to go to Australia. After that, I moved to Spain and 1 year later, he went to Spain and asked me to come live with him to Australia. And, now here I am, living on the Gold Coast and enjoying every day next to Ruben. Btw, thanks for calling me “lovely latin lady”!

What inspired you to start making board covers and creating a business around this? Well. I was in a place where I didn’t know what to do for a living. As a publicist, it’s kind of hard to find a job on the Gold Coast. So I remember one day I was with my friend Alexa, and I told her I wanted to start creating. Making things. And she gave me so many good ideas, including “surfboard covers”. So I decided to make one for Ruben’s birthday, and it came out really nice. After that, I made 6 more and then set up a Facebook page. And now I’m loving my covers so much! After all, I’m on the Gold Coast and surf is everywhere, so as long as there’s surf, there’s Ola Para Siempre too.

Are they all custom made? How can we order your covers? Yes. They’re all custom made. That’s the idea, to create unique designs for every one of my clients. There are a few options if you want to order an “ola para siempre” cover:

Etsy shop:  http://www.etsy.com/shop/olaparasiempre

You could also send a message to: http://www.facebook.com/olaparasiempre

Or e-mail to: olaparasiempre@gmail.com

You`re also interested in other crafty things. Tell us about your blog…I love crafts. And it`s kind of funny because I didn’t know that about myself. I think when you are so far away from home, you discover stuff about yourself that you had no idea it was there.  I started blogging 1 year ago and it has become an obsession to me. It’s a way of expressing everything about me, my life, what I like, where I go etc. And what I like the most about being a blogger is that you are your own boss. There is no one telling you what to write about or how to design a post. You just feel free to create… and it feels really nice.

If we came to visit you on the Goldy, where would you take us for good coffee and eats? Well, first of all, I don’t drink coffee. I get all shaky and weird when I have a cup of coffee. But if you want me to take you to a great restaurant, I would definitely take you to Hellenika. It’s my favorite restaurant on the Gold Coast. It’s Greek, it’s delicious  and I’m pretty sure you would love it.

What is on your bucket list? I actually don’t have a bucket list. I don’t know why. My life is pretty simple. I guess the only thing that would be in that list, is living close to my family in a beautiful place, where we can all be happy together.

Favourite surf destination? The Pass, Byron Bay, Australia.

Who or what inspires you? Everything inspires me. Love, my family, my friends, my dog, people walking on the street, a good movie, a cup of tea, lying down on my bed thinking of nothing. Everything.

One piece of advice you would like to share with us fellow salty gypsies…

Don’t take sh#t from anyone. Smile and tell jokes to your friends to make them smile as well.

Sina Mejias Gates is a Publicist and maker of super rad custom surfboard covers. All images courtesy of Sina and taken by the talented photographer, Victoria Aguirre.

Oh yeah – and what does Hola Para Siempre mean? You`ll have to go check out her site….

6 comments

  1. Thank you Danielle!!!!! I LOVED IT!!!! you made my day with this article! 😀

  2. Pingback: Salt Gypsy « Hola para siempre by Sina

  3. Ruben Cardenas

    Felicitaciones, excelente entrevista que es el primer reconocimiento a una idea brillante y a una ferrea voluntad y seguridad en lo que haces.
    Muchos éxitos

    Ruben y Zuleima

  4. Alexa

    Yeah Sina! Amazing. As usual.

  5. Pingback: BYRON BAY SURF FESTIVAL 2013 | Salt Gypsy

Leave a Reply

